Entity 2.1.24

A wealth of applications with which you will need to mod Halo 2.
Post Reply
User avatar
Click16
Posts: 1941
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:36 am
Location: United States

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Click16 »

Isn't there a window for the Hex values?
Image
DarkShallFall
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:29 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by DarkShallFall »

Grimdoomer wrote:Something extreamly useful and not hard to do.... Well... Make an option where you can right click a value in the meta editor, and change it's type to like int, float, short, etc, and write it to the plugin. But make sure when you change an int to a short, you add two values to keep the sizes correct.
Yea do that, just turn that label used for type and make it a combobox.

Also when ever you edit a value make the textbox turn yellow, would come in use when finding what you edited.

MY aim is updated on this profile, If you want to add an rth feature to this I would be more then happy to help.
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Click16 wrote:Isn't there a window for the Hex values?
Yes, but it's a piss poor hex editor and you can't run the meta editor simultaniously.
Darkshallfall wrote:
Grimdoomer wrote:Something extreamly useful and not hard to do.... Well... Make an option where you can right click a value in the meta editor, and change it's type to like int, float, short, etc, and write it to the plugin. But make sure when you change an int to a short, you add two values to keep the sizes correct.
Yea do that, just turn that label used for type and make it a combobox.

Also when ever you edit a value make the textbox turn yellow, would come in use when finding what you edited.

MY aim is updated on this profile, If you want to add an rth feature to this I would be more then happy to help.
I like the comboBox idea, RTH would be great and as for the yellow, do you mean for the whole session or just until "Save" is hit?
xxpenguinxx
Posts: 1974
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:50 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by xxpenguinxx »

Maybe you could have entity save the edited plugin in a folder in it's dir called "plugins-2" or something. For the highlighting part maybe have it save the changes and add "#" to the name of the edited piece and when entity starts it checks the folder for plugins and when you select a tag it highlights everything that has "#" in front of it. Doing this would also allow someone who doesn't have your entity to see where someone made changes to the plugin and they can try to revise it even more.
DemonicSandwich wrote:See that? You see that how it is highlighted down here but it's not highlighted right there? Ah, I guess that's what I get for pirating it.
In Soviet Russia, DS touches you. Say it again and I'll do more than touch. ~DS -Oh baby
A cat was licking itself to the sound of potato chips.
User avatar
OwnZ joO
Posts: 1197
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:46 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by OwnZ joO »

Yeah, just have to make another data type, or do another hack like the one he did with the color chooser.
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

After your post on the interesting read and seeing bungies data type of "Vector3D" and "Quaternion" already gave me the idea to support those types. Someone will have to go through the plugins and change the types for these, but I will work on supporting these as well as other things 8-)
User avatar
OwnZ joO
Posts: 1197
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:46 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by OwnZ joO »

I've wanted to do that for a while, but have either been busy, or not wanted to program. You should post the data types you want to add to the ent format(color, coordinate, ect) before you do, so we can all discuss the best way to do it.
User avatar
Grimdoomer
Admin
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:09 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Grimdoomer »

I can give you a list of all the data types h2 uses if you want.
Don't snort the magic, we need it for the network.
DarkShallFall
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:29 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by DarkShallFall »

Well there should be a formatting method for the side by side stuff, the big issue about making new types for the new controls is that nothing else will support them.
But it is useful to have them so... we need real color value picker, byte color value picker, and some other shit like what guerrilla has for the effect stuff.
Also converting a byte color to a real color is as fallows: byte * 0.003921568627450980392156862745098 = real color.
Image
User avatar
JacksonCougar
Huurcat
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:30 pm
Location: Somewhere in Canada

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by JacksonCougar »

I prefer just using division byte/byte.MaxSize
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Grimdoomer wrote:I can give you a list of all the data types h2 uses if you want.
This would be a very good idea so that we can keep the data types streamlined.
User avatar
XZodia
Staff
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by XZodia »

JacksonCougar wrote:I prefer just using division byte/byte.MaxSize
or / 255

As for functions, some may remember I started writing a control for editing them a while ago but kinda forgot about it...don't even know if I still have the code...but it would be easy to implement since there the only reflexives that are in byte sized chunks...
Image
JacksonCougar wrote:I find you usually have great ideas.
JacksonCougar wrote:Ah fuck. Why must you always be right? Why.
User avatar
((N8))
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by ((N8)) »

Grrr, I wanna learn all this shit >_>
Image
JacksonCougar wrote:Sheep.
...how could you just go and change a quote like that? lol...
User avatar
JacksonCougar
Huurcat
Posts: 2460
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:30 pm
Location: Somewhere in Canada

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by JacksonCougar »

xzodia wrote:
JacksonCougar wrote:I prefer just using division byte/byte.MaxSize
or / 255

As for functions, some may remember I started writing a control for editing them a while ago but kinda forgot about it...don't even know if I still have the code...but it would be easy to implement since there the only reflexives that are in byte sized chunks...
In C# byte.MaxSize is a constant so it is the same once compiled. However it just looks nicer in source, and infers extra information.
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Shock120 wrote:sometimes combo boxes are too small for text strings. :idea:

valid perms for current tag only, instead of typing it in yourself or searching for it.

Entity doesn't need to have a separate chunk cloner.
better to make it like guerilla where there were buttons for
add, delete, clone, delete all, in the meta editor.

could you also incorporate a data type for chunk limit?
* = infinite amount/undefined
DAMN YOU READING INTO MY HEAD! :evil:
After reading the "interesting read" I started on these. Listed in my to do list.
I have the buttons on the form, so now I need to implement them and as for the chunk limit I'm planning on making a program to read through grim's listings and add the max chunk amount into the plugins where they can be read in and used.
User avatar
Grimdoomer
Admin
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:09 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Grimdoomer »

troymac1ure wrote:
Shock120 wrote:sometimes combo boxes are too small for text strings. :idea:

valid perms for current tag only, instead of typing it in yourself or searching for it.

Entity doesn't need to have a separate chunk cloner.
better to make it like guerilla where there were buttons for
add, delete, clone, delete all, in the meta editor.

could you also incorporate a data type for chunk limit?
* = infinite amount/undefined
DAMN YOU READING INTO MY HEAD! :evil:
After reading the "interesting read" I started on these. Listed in my to do list.
I have the buttons on the form, so now I need to implement them and as for the chunk limit I'm planning on making a program to read through grim's listings and add the max chunk amount into the plugins where they can be read in and used.
You should just use all the types h2 uses. I'll post the list later. Break away from reflexives, and go to tag_block's.
Don't snort the magic, we need it for the network.
User avatar
XZodia
Staff
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by XZodia »

xzodia wrote:I imagine since the original plugins where generated, the code for finding string ids was wrong, because as we know they are described wrongly in the white paper.
Grimdoomer wrote:Entity doesn't read them correctly either. That was part of the problem.
Was this fixed?
Image
JacksonCougar wrote:I find you usually have great ideas.
JacksonCougar wrote:Ah fuck. Why must you always be right? Why.
User avatar
Grimdoomer
Admin
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:09 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Grimdoomer »

xzodia wrote:
xzodia wrote:I imagine since the original plugins where generated, the code for finding string ids was wrong, because as we know they are described wrongly in the white paper.
Grimdoomer wrote:Entity doesn't read them correctly either. That was part of the problem.
Was this fixed?
Nope. I checked the spas tag, it still shows the string id which is wrong.
Don't snort the magic, we need it for the network.
User avatar
Ogrish
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Ogrish »

I just tried to add a map to main menu with entity, and it just wont work right, also the auto save is broken.

I have the latest update.
User avatar
OwnZ joO
Posts: 1197
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:46 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by OwnZ joO »

Use menu menu menu or one of the mainmenu editors like that
User avatar
Ogrish
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Ogrish »

I was just testing it in entity, Such a simple task as renaming a map slot, and writing a desciption should be able to be done in Entity, even if Ents not the best App for doing it.
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Shock120 wrote:
Grimdoomer wrote:You should just use all the types h2 uses. I'll post the list later. Break away from reflexives, and go to tag_block's.
just more and more work for troy :woo:
troy plz tell us what is on your to-do list. :XD:
oh make sure, there is a message box to say how many chunks you've got in clipboard (to paste into another map).
I can't find the smiley holding the gun to his head... now where is it?
User avatar
Click16
Posts: 1941
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:36 am
Location: United States

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Click16 »

troymac1ure wrote:I can't find the smiley holding the gun to his head... now where is it?
TEH NOEESSS! No morez entityz
Image
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Shock120 wrote:
troymac1ure wrote:
Shock120 wrote:
Grimdoomer wrote:You should just use all the types h2 uses. I'll post the list later. Break away from reflexives, and go to tag_block's.
just more and more work for troy :woo:
troy plz tell us what is on your to-do list. :XD:
oh make sure, there is a message box to say how many chunks you've got in clipboard (to paste into another map).
I can't find the smiley holding the gun to his head... now where is it?
Image or Image
ROFL!!!

...ohh..... yeah, those'll both do. lol
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Grimdoomer wrote:
xzodia wrote:
xzodia wrote:I imagine since the original plugins where generated, the code for finding string ids was wrong, because as we know they are described wrongly in the white paper.
Grimdoomer wrote:Entity doesn't read them correctly either. That was part of the problem.
Was this fixed?
Nope. I checked the spas tag, it still shows the string id which is wrong.
I understand what you mean now and I think it's fixed. What SPAS tag were you checking and what was it giving you?

EDIT: Just checked through and verified. In all the SPAS tags, I only found 3 actual listings (rifles, closed & plasma), the rest were fakies
Post Reply