Entity 2.1.24

A wealth of applications with which you will need to mod Halo 2.
Post Reply
User avatar
kornman00
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:48 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by kornman00 »

This new post layout is getting extremely annoying and lame :¬_¬:
__________________________
Grimdoomer wrote:Are you sure? because I could have sworn you told me I need to convert the mopp data? Also the last time I worked on converting a vista bsp to xbox entity could display the mesh fine. Although this means almost nothing in terms of that map being stable or not, last time I checked it does use all the mesh resources blocks in the raw...
__________________________
I don't think I said you had to convert MOPP data, you may be mistaking my words for something else. Like the vertex buffer. The vertex buffer has to have the correct definition index of the vertex format used. Which is completely different on PC vs Xbox. Since Entity doesn't use that definition index for processing vertex buffers (doing so allows you to only need the vertex buffer field to manipulate data, you don't need any render model related fields) it would work fine with the repacked vertex data. However, it'd still have the same vertex buffer field data as the PC side had which would have a definition index to some other (read: wrong) vertex format.


Making a cache translator would be a pretty big undertaking (if you want to do it right at least) and I don't have my finalized schedule made for the coming months so, no.
User avatar
XZodia
Staff
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by XZodia »

Important Fix Required:

Remove the extension from the names of extracted tags.

eg

<Meta TagType="weap" TagName="objects\weapons\rifle\smg\smg.weap"

should be

<Meta TagType="weap" TagName="objects\weapons\rifle\smg\smg"
Image
JacksonCougar wrote:I find you usually have great ideas.
JacksonCougar wrote:Ah fuck. Why must you always be right? Why.
User avatar
rentreg
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:11 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by rentreg »

i use old entity for your app xzodia. so make sure it will still have support for that :P

as for troy:
Anyways, MOPP is important but collision is not the next step. First of all it would be better if you could SEE the bsp model in game, then work on collision after that. At least if we can see the bsp model and have the engine not rendering full levels (as with Onyx style levels) then we can just add collision with obstacle placements as has been done until we can get proper collision working.

Also, I have never even looked at H2V, so I dunno anything that goes on in the mystical world of H2V.
ive never understood what MOPP is used for. i know its required for various things but thats it. it is the z-buffer that determines what faces are visible and hidden if submerged by closer mesh so im not sure what the MOPP code does to prevent the engine from rendering full levels. care to explain?
Last edited by rentreg on Sun Jun 20, 2010 12:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Most users ever online was 152 on March 16th, 2012, 7:02 am
what happened on March 16th, 2012 at 7:02 am? 0_o
User avatar
MrMurder
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:55 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by MrMurder »

For me entity 1.3 beta works great
Thanks For You're Time
User avatar
XZodia
Staff
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by XZodia »

rentreg wrote:i use old entity for your app xzodia. so make sure it will still have support for that :P
I don't think the export format has ever changed, so that shouldn't be an issue.
Image
JacksonCougar wrote:I find you usually have great ideas.
JacksonCougar wrote:Ah fuck. Why must you always be right? Why.
User avatar
rentreg
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:11 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by rentreg »

on that note, could you add the ability to add reflexes?
Most users ever online was 152 on March 16th, 2012, 7:02 am
what happened on March 16th, 2012 at 7:02 am? 0_o
User avatar
XZodia
Staff
Posts: 2208
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by XZodia »

rentreg wrote:on that note, could you add the ability to add reflexes?
If that was directed at me, its already possible the info just has to be added to the xml file first
Until troy adds it to entity you can do it by hand:

Copy the reflexive element from the tag your copying from then fix the following:

Offset: This is the absolute offset of the pointer in the tag
ChunkCount: Make this 0
Translation: Set this to the size found in the top element (the size of the tag)
PointsToTagName: Set this to the tag name (again can be found in the top element)
TagName: Set this to the tag name
Image
JacksonCougar wrote:I find you usually have great ideas.
JacksonCougar wrote:Ah fuck. Why must you always be right? Why.
User avatar
Prey
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Prey »

Just a little bsp thing: in the original entity, there was a problem with the masterchief model (when viewing player spawns), and some other spawns, having a few seemingly misplaced vertices which resulted in there being random lines coming out of the models. This is because some models are rendered using a triangle strip instead of a triangle list. Entity took this into account, but it didn't take into account the faceCount parameter (when drawing the vertices).

As the model's vertices are indexed, when using a triangle list the faceCount can be obtained by dividing the indicieCount by 3: 'triangle list' means every three indices is one face.

This is not the case with a triangle strip. A triangle strip takes the first 3 indicies as one face, then the next three indices starting from the second index as the next face, and so on.
e.g.
indicies = {0, 1, 2, 3, 4}
face[0] = {0, 1, 2}
face[1] = {1, 2, 3}
face[2] = {2, 3, 4}

So to obtain the faceCount from the indicieCount for a triangle strip, you need to subtract 2. This is what you've been doing in your versions of entity, but I was just wanted to make clear that subtracting 2 wasn't a temporary fix but the proper solution to the problem :) The original entity didn't subtract 2 so those random lines were a result of it trying to read 2 extra faces that weren't there.
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Prey wrote:So to obtain the faceCount from the indicieCount for a triangle strip, you need to subtract 2. This is what you've been doing in your versions of entity, but I was just wanted to make clear that subtracting 2 wasn't a temporary fix but the proper solution to the problem :) The original entity didn't subtract 2 so those random lines were a result of it trying to read 2 extra faces that weren't there.
lol. That makes sense now that I've come across triangle strips and lists. At the time I didn't understand the DirectX stuff much, let alone triangle lists/strips. Thanks for clearing that up. I guess I should have it check if it is a list or strip as either can be used. Not sure if I applied this "fix" to both or just to strips. I'd have to look for at the code again. It may be leaving triangles out on some objects...
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Image

Another add-on. I'm hoping to change this to a lightmap editor, but I need to learn alot along the way.
Either manually with a brush or set a light source and have it all calculated, but this is again all new to me so nothing soon...
Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
neodos
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:58 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by neodos »

Basicaly the lightmap is a render of the light over a constant/lambert material (applied to map mesh) plus eventually Ambient Occlusion.

I use Autodesk Softimage and to generate such kind of texture maps, i use the "Render Map" the model needs to have uv maps of course and then you setup the Render Map, to render diffuse only, shadows only, ambien occlusion, or mixed etc

Then in order to apply the lightmap over the bsp Diffuse(color only) i guess its a "multiply" blending (white being 0% opaque (transparent)) , or overlay.

Can you extract the lightmap bitmap(s)?
User avatar
Gary
Posts: 1946
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:17 pm
Location: USA, FL
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Gary »

User avatar
Prey
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Prey »

troymac1ure wrote:Either manually with a brush or set a light source and have it all calculated, but this is again all new to me so nothing soon...
Any help would be appreciated.
The brush idea is interesting, but it would only be a fun thing and so doesn't really justify the work put in. In a serious mod you're going to want your lightmaps properly calculated.

Lightmaps are generated using ray-tracing, which basically means you fan out from a point (your light source) and wherever geometry is encountered you record the strength of the light hitting that point in the pixel. Then wherever light didn't hit you know to be a shadow. Lightmap generation is pretty heavy mathematically, and not really the stuff for beginners :P Ray-tracing is computationally slow (especially when you need to do many) which is why lightmaps are generated offline. If you want an example of ray-tracing, entity's selection code for spawns incorporates ray-tracing to go from 2D coords to 3D coords.
neodos wrote:Then in order to apply the lightmap over the bsp Diffuse(color only) i guess its a "multiply" blending (white being 0% opaque (transparent)) , or overlay.

Can you extract the lightmap bitmap(s)?
It's applied by diffuseTexel * ltmpTexel * 2, the 2 being there to preserve the lightness. The lightmaps are all stored in one bitmap tag, so should be extractable as normal.
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

:lol:
Guess I should have clarified. I understand the lightmap and how it works, what I need help with more is the coding involved.

I had already had the thought of learning from the object selection code (ray tracing). I figure the shadows don't have to be awesome, but if they were at least correct for a given light source that would help. The code could always be optimized later to improve lighting/shadowing.

Neodos, I can extract a lightmap for a given BSP section from 3DSMax, but it only outputs the bitmap with no UV maps and to extract the UV maps seems like a drawn out process; Okay for one, but for multiple BSP sections it would take a long time. If there is a way to create a lightmap and extract it with the UV maps easily that would be another option.

I figure the best idea would be to load up the lightmap and allow placement of lights around the map, setting color, light style and direction. Then have it calculate the lightmap from it. Thoughts are welcome.
User avatar
David5534
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 1:52 am
Location: Cloud 9

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by David5534 »

Anyone know why this crashes after its open for a few seconds?

Edit: ok so its not the main application it self that crashes because i can just move the Send report window out of the way and everything works but when ever i click a tag it says "Error reading ifp: tag name here", any incite on this?

Heres the error i get when i try to view the meta editor

Code: Select all

See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at entity.Forms.Meta_Editor.MetaEditor.LoadENTControls(Object[] entArray) in C:\GAMES\XBox\Halo2\Programs\Source\Entity 2.1 Source\MetaEditor.cs\Meta Editor\MetaEditor.cs:line 125
   at entity.Forms.Meta_Editor.MetaEditor.loadControls(Int32 MapNumber) in C:\GAMES\XBox\Halo2\Programs\Source\Entity 2.1 Source\MetaEditor.cs\Meta Editor\MetaEditor.cs:line 103
   at entity.MapForm.metaEditorToolStripMenuItem_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3603 (GDR.050727-3600)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Entity
    Assembly Version: 2.1.8.0
    Win32 Version: 2.1.8
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/SAIO/Entity%202.1/Entity.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3614 (GDR.050727-3600)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
HaloMap
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/SAIO/Entity%202.1/HaloMap.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3082 (QFE.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
MetaEditor.cs
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/SAIO/Entity%202.1/MetaEditor.cs.DLL
----------------------------------------
BugReporter
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2368.29076
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/SAIO/Entity%202.1/Libraries/BugReporter.dll
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
Model Resizer
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2372.23755
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/SAIO/Entity%202.1/Libraries/Model%20Resizer.dll
----------------------------------------
XML Plugin Reader
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2372.30415
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/SAIO/Entity%202.1/Libraries/XML%20Plugin%20Reader.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


Image
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

You're missing plugins. I don't ship with plugins usually b/c most people have their own modified plugins they like to use.
They are around here somewhere, try doing a search for them, either Xzodia or Grim's plugins are probably the best bet.


Also, custom BSP is giving issues. Managed to inject beaver creek base into Coagulation in place of a coag base, but if you look towards the base, the game lags out. Something is confusing the engine.
User avatar
NotZachary82
Posts: 1846
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:39 pm

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by NotZachary82 »

David5534 wrote:Anyone know why this crashes after its open for a few seconds?
This kid ...

I don't even. :wink:
User avatar
David5534
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 1:52 am
Location: Cloud 9

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by David5534 »

troymac1ure wrote:You're missing plugins. I don't ship with plugins usually b/c most people have their own modified plugins they like to use.
They are around here somewhere, try doing a search for them, either Xzodia or Grim's plugins are probably the best bet.


Also, custom BSP is giving issues. Managed to inject beaver creek base into Coagulation in place of a coag base, but if you look towards the base, the game lags out. Something is confusing the engine.
Now i feel like an idiot lol, i was just assuming it came with the default plugins. I really like the feel and features of this new entity, keep up the good work.
NotZachary82 wrote:
David5534 wrote:Anyone know why this crashes after its open for a few seconds?
This kid ...

I don't even. :wink:
Thats right im back :p
Image
User avatar
Ogrish
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by Ogrish »

Any progress being made?
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.7

Post by troymac1ure »

Ogrish wrote:Any progress being made?
I've stopped working on it. Not to say completely, but this is a down time for sure. I can post what I've done, although there's some stuff left in Limbo, such as Gizmo movement in the BSP Editor. It's there, but buggy. I haven't even loaded H2 in a long time (or I would've tried your map for sure).

It just seems like everything I try to add hits a major roadblock and my motivation has dwindled (or my free time has shorter). With my kid now, for once in my life I am not looking for the first opportunity to hit the computer and program or play games, I enjoy just watching her grow. It's really quite cool and I never thought anything could make me willingly leave my computer alone...

...course I still check here every few days...
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.10

Post by troymac1ure »

Well, after some time, a new version has been released.
Check the top. I've done alot of bug testing on my computer, but haven't wiped the dust off the old Xbox to give it a true test, so I would be happy to get feedback on anything that's not working right. I've tried to catch most crashes so it gives a detailed report of what went wrong so it can be fixed quickly.
(I'm thinking this is mainly going to be from you Ogrish :wink: )

Especially with the Menu Editor. I think I've worked all but one bug out of the MP side of it, with the one left being that sometimes it doesn't save the right map picture into it, so you have to go back into the Editor and import the picture again. Other than that I think it's all pretty solid.

Sorry, the Meta Editor has no updated RTH yet and also no "undo/reset" abilities (although with the way it is setup, it will be very easy to add in).

Enjoy,
Troy
User avatar
Ogrish
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Entity 2.1.10

Post by Ogrish »

Sounds good ill give it a test sometime this week.
User avatar
Ogrish
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Entity 2.1.10

Post by Ogrish »

Sorry, i havnt had any free time to test this yet, i did open it up and look at the NEW (Meta Editor+).
Ill post again when ive had time to put it thru some tests. :D
User avatar
troymac1ure
Keeper of Entity
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:16 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada, eh
Contact:

Re: Entity 2.1.10

Post by troymac1ure »

No problem. I just figure that when you do some more mods, this should help out. I've been playing with 360 programming for the past few days, so I haven't even tried to put RTH on my old Xbox for helping me implement RTH into Entity.
User avatar
bumlove
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:10 am
Location: England I'm not British, I'm English

Re: Entity 2.1.10

Post by bumlove »

It caught me by surprise too, I had a bit of free tv/xbox/living room to myself time so I thought I'd go at it and "pop up" "New update available" just upgraded my 64MB gpu to a 256MB so now orbit works for me too now, I like the 2nd Meta editor esp the big red bits saying "don't touch that here, touch it there"
oh one small thing prob my error, I tried adding a conversion map to the main menu but it froze on "Loading 100%",(stop to think did I sign it?, I'm sure I did but) like I say prob my error
Post Reply